Our History

Forgeside RFC was formed in the 1880’s and the seniors have played in the final of the Ivor Jones Cup 4 times within the last 6 years and have won 3 of those, but have won the cup a record 16 times in it’s history.

The club has produced some great players over the years, including Welsh Districts players Malcolm Williams, Paul Jenkins, John Priest, and Colin Howells who captained the side in 1982-83. There have also been some players who have represented Pontypool & Districts, Tony Davies, Steve Phillips, Leighton Williams, Steve Parfitt & Chris Prole.

The club has also produced some great winning teams, like the Welsh Brewers Cup Runners Up in 1987-88, a massive achievement for a village side the size of Forgeside.

We have also won the Pontypool District J.R.U Merit table on numerous occasions.

As Welsh international and Blaenafon great Terry Cobner say’s,

“The long term future of Welsh Rugby depends on clubs like Forgeside which not only provide a sporting outlet for our youngsters, but which are also at the heart of communities that they represent’

The club also has a minis & juniors section, and although in it’s infancy has already produced 2 players who have represented Pontypool & District Schools U11s. The minis & juniors are growing stronger each year and is highly regarded by the Seniors as being the future of the club. This is all down the efforts of the committee, coaches, parents and the players, and  the time that they contribute.